Les Miserables

image

Les Miserables

One Line Review:

Will win all the Oscars, but didn’t fully win me over.

Cast:

Hugh Jackman
Russell Crowe
Anne Hathaway
Amanda Seyfried
Eddie Redmane
With:
Helena Bonham Carter
Sacha Baron Cohen

Cast wise, there are brilliant performances galore. Everyone delivers 110% and is deserving of the academy nods that the cast recieved. This is a musical (for those of you living in a cave) and all singing is, as far as I know, pitch perfect.

Overview:

Now, I havn’t seen this before, not on stage, on screen or read the book before this film, so all my review is based solely on this incarnation of the story. I had mixed feelings with the film, but it falls into the category of “Oscar movie that is really good, but i couldn’t care less for”.

Pros:
As I said before, the cast is spot on, both in performance and singing.
The cinematography is all perfect.
Sacha Baron Cohen is actually funny in a film, and, as usual, so is Helena Bonham Carter.

Cons:
It is 2 hours 40mins long. It felt like 4 hours and 40mins. It’s very long. Hobbit length of long.
Before I saw the film, everyone I know who had already seen it, said they cried. Now as a guy who cries at nearly everything (sailing home in a river of my own tears after Toy Story 3) I didn’t feel this film pulled on my heartstrings as much as it should have.
With the plot, i liked all the scenes with Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe and Anne Hathaway in the first act, however in subsequent acts with the addition of the boys in their little rebellion, i found to be boring.
I know it not to be the case with other musicals, but in this it felt like 99% vocal dialogue/singing coupled with barely any actual spoken line of dialogue, which would usually create emphasis, however falls to impress.
One thing that I hate in any musical, not just this, is when two or more characters sing over each other. I can’t understand either of them, so why do it?

End of the day, the film has been made really well, however it’s just not for me.

Recommend: If you are familiar with the story, I think it’s well done and you’ll enjoy it. If you have no previous experience with the story, avoid.
Overall: 7/10

Leave a Reply

